Exclusive Linguistic Solutions (ELS) was founded in 2004 by a group of faculty members and graduates of Lomonosov Moscow State University. Before deciding to set up their own company, they had been working for many years at high-profile Russian and global organizations, including the Big Four audit firms, international banks and major Russian corporations. They brought this invaluable experience on board their new venture, ELS.

Today, our team includes uniquely qualified language professionals – translators, copyeditors, proofreaders and copywriters – and project managers. In addition to linguistic qualifications, some of us have degrees in Economics, Media Studies, and Science, as well as experience of working for Russian banks, international consulting firms and UK media, and teaching MBA programs.

We work with a number of freelance translators and copyeditors who have passed our stringent three-step selection procedure and respect our rigorous quality and confidentiality requirements. All our in-house employees and freelance contractors must sign a non-disclosure agreement.

Our personnel management practices rest on the following four principles:

  • Stringent selection of team members based on their professional and personal qualities (we don’t work with individuals who have not met our criteria)
  • Ongoing coaching
  • No formal restrictions, flexible and comfortable working patterns
  • A generous reward and bonus system

To join our in-house team, every candidate has to pass a four-step selection process. It tests the candidate’s specialist skills and professional qualities such as concentration and attention to detail; task management; client interaction; ability to express themselves clearly, provide competent linguistic feedback and justify translation and copyediting decisions in an informed and convincing manner.

ELS translators, trained to assume that their work could go directly to the client, take full ownership of the copy they deliver. Thanks to this established practice, our copyeditors are never wasted on correcting grave and palpable errors; instead they add the final linguistic polish and refine the copy to perfection.

 

Our vacancies are published here and on hh.ru. If you are a professional translator or copyeditor keen to improve your skills and take ownership of the results of your work, you would be welcome in our friendly team where knowledge and experience sharing are part of the daily pattern. When recruiting a prospective in-house employee or testing a new freelance translator, we always look forward to a long-term relationship.

 

Current Job Openings

We’d like to thank you for your timely and efficient delivery. A job very well done; standard industry terminology used throughout. We are very grateful for your professionalism and promptness. Thank you also for your insightful comments. Both our management and clients gave very positive feedback.

Louder

Reviewing our job applicants’ CVs and cover letters, we look at their style, language, vocabulary, spelling, punctuation, internal logic, and the balance of original ideas and clichés.

We look beyond specialist degrees, academic qualifications, impeccable references or blue chip employers. What really matters is how job applicants express themselves in every word and phrase they write. In our book, a true language professional is the one who understands that anything with their name on it – be it a test translation, a CV or a cover letter – is viewed by a serious employer as a showcase of the candidate’s skills. In correspondence with a potential employer, members of our profession have an early chance to impress. Metaphorically speaking, if you are a good shoemaker, don’t turn up to an interview barefoot. Strangely enough, this simple thought comes as a shattering revelation for some of our applicants.

This is why we always request detailed cover letters, warning prospective job applicants that token two-liners, blanket-emailed to a dozen employers, will be ignored. But if you take the time to tailor your letter specifically for us, you will have our undivided attention.

Daria Peers
Chief English Editor

Компания «ЭЛС» основана в 2004 году преподавателями и выпускниками МГУ им. Ломоносова, которые много лет работали в ведущих российских и международных организациях (в том числе в компаниях «Большой четверки», международных банках и крупных российских корпорациях). Этот бесценный опыт они принесли с собой в «ЭЛС».

Сегодня в компании работают специалисты с уникальным уровнем квалификации — менеджеры, переводчики, редакторы, корректоры, копирайтеры. Некоторые сотрудники, помимо филологической подготовки, имеют экономическое, журналистское или техническое образование, а также опыт профильной деятельности в этих сферах (работа в российских банках, международных консалтинговых компаниях и британских СМИ, преподавание на курсах MBA).

Мы сотрудничаем с рядом внештатных переводчиков и редакторов, прошедших три этапа жесткого конкурсного отбора и неукоснительно соблюдающих строгие требования «ЭЛС» в отношении качества работы и конфиденциальности. Со всеми специалистами в обязательном порядке заключаются соглашения о неразглашении.

Система управления персоналом основана на четырех принципах:

  • предельно строгий отбор, в том числе по личностным качествам (сотрудничество с не прошедшими отбор специалистами исключено);
  • постоянное наставничество;
  • отсутствие формальных ограничений для максимально гибкой и комфортной организации работы;
  • достойное вознаграждение за успехи.

Зачислению в штат нового сотрудника предшествуют четыре этапа тестирования, в ходе которых с помощью нестандартных тестов проверяются не только узкопрофессиональные навыки, но и такие качества, как внимательность, способность ставить, понимать и четко выполнять задачи, умение гибко и точно формулировать свои мысли, составлять грамотные лингвистические комментарии, убедительно обосновывать свои переводческие и редакторские решения, продуктивно взаимодействовать с клиентами.

Переводчики «ЭЛС» приучаются всегда работать так, как будто их продукт подлежит отправке заказчику без предварительной проверки. Благодаря этому наши редакторы не тратят время на исправление грубых и очевидных ошибок, но получают возможность тщательно оттачивать формулировки и вносить филигранную стилистическую правку.

 

Наши вакансии публикуются здесь и на hh.ru. Если вы профессионально занимаетесь переводом или редактированием, готовы учиться, совершенствоваться и отвечать за результаты своей работы, мы будем рады принять вас в свой дружный коллектив, постоянно делиться знаниями и опытом. Принимая на работу нового штатного специалиста или оценивая способности нового внештатного переводчика, мы всегда рассчитываем на долгосрочное сотрудничество.

 

Открытые вакансии

Спасибо вам большое! До вас мы обращались к другим переводчикам, и результат разочаровывал… Ваш перевод — именно то, чего мы ожидали.

Louder

Оценивая письма и резюме соискателей, мы прежде всего самым внимательным образом смотрим на то, как они написаны: стиль, язык, словарный запас, орфография, пунктуация, наличие единой последовательной логики во всех аспектах текста, соотношение количества авторских и шаблонных формулировок…

Наличие профильного образования, научные степени, безупречные рекомендации, названия известных компаний в послужном списке — все это для нас второстепенно. Важнее всего то, как соискатель проявляет себя в языке каждым своим словом, предложением, текстом. Ведь настоящий специалист по языку должен понимать: на любой написанный им текст, будь то пробный перевод, резюме или письмо, серьезный работодатель смотрит как на образец создаваемой соискателем продукции. Просто переписываясь с потенциальным работодателем, специалист нашего профиля тем самым уже начинает показывать товар лицом. Образно говоря, хороший сапожник, нанимаясь на работу, прежде всего должен прийти в хороших сапогах. Как ни странно, для множества соискателей эта нехитрая мысль становится настоящим открытием.

Поэтому мы всегда просим кандидатов писать развернутые письма и предупреждаем о том, что чисто формальные отклики, состоящие из нескольких шаблонных фраз, будут проигнорированы. Если по письму видно, что оно в неизменном виде рассылается десяткам адресатов, мы не воспримем его всерьез. Мы любим получать письма, написанные специально для нас.

Дарья Пирс
Главный редактор англоязычных текстов